## ad hoc Student Science Policy Award Committee

**Committee Members**: J. A. Cook, N. G. Dawson, R. Gropp, A. V. Linzey, E. S. McCulloch, S. A. Smiley-Walters (Chair).

## Mission:

This Committee administers the Student Science Policy Award, which can be bestowed upon multiple graduate students each year. This Award was created to facilitate ASM student members' involvement in science public policy. The Award would not be possible without the collaboration of the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS).

## **Information Items:**

(1) To clarify, the previous public policy internship and the affiliated committee no longer exist because of increased monetary contributions required to continue the three-month internship. The intern program ran from 2005 until 2008 and again in 2011 and 2012.

Briefly, the current Student Science Policy Award sponsors awardees on a two-day trip to Washington, D.C. where they receive public policy training and participate in Congressional Visits Day. Public policy training and organization of the trip for award recipients are provided by AIBS. The Student Science Policy Award existed in its present two-day public policy experience last year (2014), albeit under a slightly different name.

(2) This past fall, our Committee advertised the ASM Student Science Policy Award available to graduate student members; we utilized ASM's social media accounts and Mammal-L to advertise the 2015 award announcement and application deadline. We received three complete applications, which were reviewed by the Committee Members.

(3) Our 2015 Award Recipients were Catherine Foley of Stony Brook University and Margot Wood of Texas A&M University. Both graduate students accepted the award and will be visiting Washington, DC on 13 & 14 May 2015 to attend the Congressional Visits Day.

(4) The Committee was able to update the ASM webpage to reflect the scope of the current Award and delete mention of the previous internship, except where appropriate in the history of the Committee and Award Recipients. A complete list of recipients from 2005 to 2015 is now on the Committee's page on the ASM website. We will continue to update this list annually.

(5) The Members of this Committee desire to continue to offer this program. If the Award continues to be offered, we ask for the help of members of ASM in advertising the Award to current graduate students who may be interested in attending Congressional Visits Day and informing graduate student advisors that the current Award will not greatly interfere with a student's typical academic term and progress. We anticipate next year's application deadline to be in January 2016.

## Action Items:

(1) The Student Science Policy Award Committee requests \$4,500 to sponsor two students to attend Congressional Visits Day in Washington DC in spring of 2016. The Award cost includes transportation, lodging, food, planning, logistical support, and policy training provided by AIBS. The visit will expose students involved in mammalogy research to policymakers on Capitol Hill.

**Respectfully submitted,** Sarah Smiley-Walters, Chair (<u>smiley.75@osu.edu</u>)